Statement of Land Acknowledgment- Saskatchewan

We begin this meeting by acknowledging that we are meeting on land that has been inhabited by Indigenous peoples from the beginning.

In particular, we acknowledge that the land on which we gather is Treaty 4 and Treat 6 territory and the traditional territory of the Cree, Ojibway, Dakota, Lakota, Nakota, Dene, Saulteaux and Assiniboine peoples and on the homeland of the Métis Nation.

We are grateful for the opportunity to meet here and we thank all the generations of people who have taken care of this land and who have been stewards of this land - for thousands of years.

We recognize and deeply appreciate their historic connection to this place. We also recognize the contributions of Métis, Inuit, and other Indigenous peoples, both in shaping and strengthening in these communities in particular, and our province and country as a whole.

Our recognition of the contributions and historic importance of Indigenous peoples must also be clearly and overtly connected to our collective commitment to make the promise and the challenge of reconciliation real in our communities.

We must also take this opportunity to commit to the struggle against the systems of oppression that have dispossessed Indigenous people of their lands, and denied their rights to self-determination.